Home

This to me is very said news, I am not a Chicago Bears fan but I have always been a Brian Urlacher fan. Urlacher played 13 seasons with the NFL only wearing one team on his uniform. At the end of last season it was reported that the Bears we not planning on resigning the linebacker for the 2013-14 season. Most Bears fans were quite outraged by this, Urlacher was also pretty outraged calling the offer the Bears made to him an “insult”.

Brian Urlacher Announces Retirement

Urlacher made it quite clear that he had no intensions of playing for another team, he wanted to retire a Bear, however he never said that he was retiring either so most sports fans still had hope of seeing him in a uniform and on the field this upcoming season. Unfortunately, any hope that any of his fans had is now gone after he announced his retirement via Twitter this afternoon. His statement to his fans was as follows:

“After spending a lot of time this spring thinking about my NFL future, I have made a decision to retire. Although I could continue playing, I’m not sure I would bring a level of performance or passion that’s up to my standards. When considering this, along with the fact that I could retire after 13 year career wearing only one jersey for such a storied franchise, my decision became pretty clear.

I want to thank all of the people in my life that have helped me along the way. I will miss my teammates, my coaches, and the great Bears fans. I’m proud to say that I gave all of you everything I had every time I took the field. I will miss this great game, but I leave it with no regrets.”

The eight time ProBowler is responsible for over 1,300 tackles, 41.5 sack and more than 20 interceptions, a true asset to the NFL.

What did you think?

